National Quality Standard- Report

The National Quality Standard (NQS) sets a national benchmark for the quality of education and care services across Australia and establishes a set of Standards that all schools are expected to meet. It also provides a standard and procedures for schools to demonstrate how they are meeting the NQS in early childhood education programs, Kindergarten to Year Two.

The National Quality Standard comprises of 7 quality areas and 15 standards. The standards are high level outcome statements. Under each standard sit elements that describe the outcomes that contribute to the standard being achieved. There are 58 elements in total.

Quality  Area 1

Educational program and practice

Quality  Area 2

Children’s Health and Safety

Quality  Area 3

Physical Environment

Quality  Area 4

Staffing arrangements

Quality  Area 5

Relationships with Children

Quality  Area 6

Collaborative partnerships with families and communities

Quality  Area 7

Governance and Leadership

Verification Process

  • Each year the early childhood teams (K-2) use NQS as a reflective tool to gauge collective program quality and identify priorities for improvement.
  • Each year Principals complete a National Quality Standard internal audit on each quality area and record findings on the School Performance Management System.
  • Every Three years an external review is completed by the Department of Education WA through the Office of Early Childhood Development and Learning. Schools are then provided with a report on each element. Please click HERE to view Como Primary’s review conducted in June 2017.